Vivint Smart Home

I’m a newbie here and posting about a “new” stock with some trepidation. Hoping for some thoughtful response, though I confess upfront I myself don’t (yet?) have the time or patience for the type of rigorous analysis that characterizes many of the posts on this board.

What got my attention about Vivint was that following very well-received earnings and a big run-up in the stock, the CEO has been buying shares very aggressively. He bought nearly 21,000 shares at $17.64 on 8/12. And the following day (yesterday) he bought another 32,000 shares at an average price of $19.36.

I love that he sold pest control services door-to-door and I love that he was on undercover boss. A JPM analyst was also raving about the stock yesterday.

Revenues and subscribers both increased y/y in the last quarter in a very difficult period. And it trades at around 3x sales.

Are “smart homes” a real trend with a massive future? It seems certain. Is Vivint best-positioned amid what I’m sure is an immensely competitive field? I have no idea. But at this price, I’m willing to take a small position as I do more research. I welcome your critiques, addenda.

2 Likes

I’ll take a stab at it. This company is too young to have any history to measure against Saul’s criteria. What info is available in the one and only earnings report claims an 8% growth in revenue. That’s not a hypergrowth stock and further analysis is not likely needed. Maybe it can grow into something but it is OT for this board.

-R

3 Likes

It probably wouldn’t hurt to have a standardized template to fill out for reporting new ideas.

At the very least you should include a symbol and introduction to what the company does! One shortcut: If you go to Yahoo finance you can copy and paste the description.

I tried a search and came up with a solar company and a smart home company, both named Vivint.