Looking for learnings

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to this amazing group and have been soaking up as much information and shared knowledge as possible. Like many others I wish I had discovered this board long ago. (I’ve had a MF Stock Advisor subscription for many years so I’m kicking myself for not having come to this group sooner!)

I have been managing my own portfolio for a number of years now and recently had to sell my home. So I know am sitting on what for me is a rather large chunk of cash representing approx. 50%+ of my portfolio.

About six weeks ago, I started to slowly implement Saul’s strategy (and have done very well by it! Thanks Saul!). I have created a target portfolio of stocks and allocations and am currently working on getting my portfolio of over 30+ stocks down to a dozen or less. A scary proposition!

I imagine there are many other folks on this board who went through this process and I was hoping you could share your own learnings and wisdom on how you went about reaching your target/current portfolio of stocks. For example, did you slowing accumulate your current position for each equity in your portfolio (the one third/one third/one third) approach? Did you consider stock price at all (and wait for better entry points? If you had stocks (not in your ideal portfolio) that were in a loss position, did you sell at a loss to redeploy the $s to buy stocks?

I realize this may be OT for this board but I also know this would be the only group with members who have gone through what I am going through now, so please reply directly to me rather than the group if you are willing to share your experiences and learnings in building out your ideal portfolio.