WPRT

Hello,

I was thinking of investing a large percentage of my investment money into WPRT, WESTPORT INNOVATIONS INC COM NEW.

And wanted to get Fools’ opinions on the company ? Stock Advisor recommended it last year, not sure if they still do.

Thank you.

1 Like

Over the past three years they have not grown revenue, and they are cash flow negative. I would not view this as a compelling investment.

I have no special knowledge of the industry–perhaps you do and have some insights that I do not. If you decide to invest, I wish you the best. However, I encourage you to open a small position (say 1% of your portfolio) rather than committing a large percentage of your investment money. There are safer, more compelling opportunities, many of which have been discussed on this board.

Good luck to you,

Tom

6 Likes

I was thinking of investing a large percentage of my investment money into WPRT, WESTPORT INNOVATIONS INC COM NEW.

And wanted to get Fools’ opinions on the company ?

Ha ha ha ha! That is a good one!

Just in case this is not a practical joke on Saul, you might want to go to the WPRT board on the Stock Advisor service and look up Saul’s posts there. He basically made his chops in the MF universe by taking this company out to the woodshed in the face of stiff opposition for a long time. (If you look at a stock price chart for WPRT, you will be able to ascertain who was on the right side of that argument!)

Of course, it is possible that things have changed now that the stock is trading at $3.44, down a bit from its all time high in the $40’s.

Rich

CED

20 Likes

Westport is a perfect example of a ‘story’ stock.

If the story plays out the rewards could be very big.

On the other hand, if the story does not work out, a total loss of capital is almost inevitable. (And with WPRT there a quite a few IFs).

Most of the posters on this board avoid story stocks like the plague - it is very ‘un-Saul’.