May Performance + Ketchup

Since I have been AWOL I wanted to kill two birds with one post - so to speak. I want to quickly post May Performance Results and then Ketchup on the things up until today. Seems simple enough.

Note 1) I am an amateur investor. Take that for what it’s worth.

Just like the rest of the year the portfolio stunk up the court in May. Having said that, overall the YTD results are about half as bad as what others are reporting. (While no one is pleased by substantial losses the fact that I could be doing much worse assuages my delicate sense of perspective and has tended to temper down my sense of dread, utter frustration, decent into hopelessness as well as my flight or flee panic mode) Why might my actual YTD results be somewhat better? Well…thats pretty simple for three readily apparent reasons:

1. While I have some core positions that could somehow possibly be randomly interpreted as LTBH - I mean I have had them quite a while; I have no intention of going down with the Titanic, Well…as much as I can help it. I mean - if your hand was on fire it would be a good thing to put it out…right? So…I go with a Retreat to High Ground Strategy. Keep this image in your mind when considering RTHG strategy:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XfQ-3IMJ_uw

1. The advent of no trading fees has enabled an investment style that rewards attempts to take advantage of the normal tidal flows of the markets: When the tide goes out I top off the core with 10-15% chunks - then I just wait for it to come back in or present one of those nice bullish support rallies and then I dump them indelicately: Over and over and over again.

Note 2: Credit where credit is due: This trading strategy evolved from MSlob’s Whack a Mole.

You can think of it overall just like this nursery song:

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&…

1. Ok…ok I forgot the 3rd reason but I am sure it will come back to me in due time.